September 01, 2016

Book Review Monkey Brain Sushi New Tastes in Japanese Fiction

Book Review 

Monkey Brain Sushi - New Tastes in Japanese Fiction

Edited by: Alfred Birnbaum

Publisher: Kodansha International, Tokyo.1991

ISBN: 4-7700-2890-3

Pages: 304

An anthology of eleven modern Japanese writers

© Copyright., 2016. All rights reserved,

Monkey Brain Sushi is an anthology of eleven up and coming Japanese writers and artists. It includes work by Haruki Murakami, Eri Makino, Genichiro Takahashi, Masahiko Shimada, Michio Hisauchi, Amy Yamada, Osamu Hashimoto, Yoshinori Shimizu, Mariko Ohara and Masato Takeno.

Each writer has a different style which makes the book a collection of themes and stories across a wide range of topics.

Favourites included The Yamada Diary, Japanese entrance Exams, Peony Snowflakes of Love, Kneel Down and Lick my Feet and Momotaro in a Capsule but each brings new information to the reader and shouldn’t be missed.

A handy read that puts you at the front seat of modern writers that have been translated into English. Enjoyable, informative and an entertaining read of short stories.

Book Review

book, review, japan, japanese, literature, monkey brain sushi, anthology, modern, fiction, #japan, #japanese, #literature, #review, haruki murakami, amy yamada,alfred birnbaum,

No comments:

Post a Comment